May 7, 2021

Maori News & Indigenous Views

MAORI SPORTS MEDIA AWARD OF THE YEAR – Whakapaaoho Reo o Hinepukohurangi

2 min read

The Maori Sports Media Award of the Year – Whakapaaho Reo o Hinepukohurangi – is a commitment by Te Tohu Taakaro o Aotearoa Charitable Trust to work constructively with the media to encourage more positive and expert reporting on Maori sports, and to improve the depth and quality of Maori sports reporting.

A finalist is chosen from three categories – print, radio and television – and the premier award winner receives a specially commissioned trophy, to hold for one year.

The award will be presented at the 2010 Maori Sports Awards in Auckland on Saturday, 4 December, 2010.

Any person or group may enter their own or another person’s work.

Nominations will be recognised from 1 November 2009 to 31 October 2010 (or later depending on National & International Events), and must be received by Te Tohu Taakaro o Aotearoa Charitable Trust by 31 October 2010.

The winning entry will have demonstrated a skilful use of the medium, in Maori or English.

A broad range of material will be considered eligible, for example:
– a television programme or a feature or short film
– a radio show (documentary, news or commentary)
– an article featured in any type of public print media
– public relations activity

The judge/s will be looking for work which has done one or more of the following:
– advanced understanding of Maori sporting pride and problems
– gone beyond the sensational or trivial treatment of the issues
– examined issues in a broader context
– encouraged moves for positive change
– recognised positive work in communities

For more information contact:

Dick Garratt
Te Tohu Taakaro o Aotearoa Charitable Trust
PO Box 23650, Papatoetoe 2155
[email protected]
09 278 6591 / 027 901 237 / 027 212 9255

The awards event recognizes achievements from 1 November 2009 to 31 October 2010

Closing date for receiving nominations is 31 October 2010
No late entries will be accepted
A judging committee will select a finalists in each category, and the overall recipient, their decision will be final and no correspondence will be entered into
The finalists will be required to attend the awards ceremony
Telstra Pacific Events Centre, Manukau 4 December 2010
Award finalists will receive two complimentary tickets to the awards and assistance with travel and accommodation

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.