Apr 22, 2021


Maori News & Indigenous Views

Sacred volcanic cones to be handed back to Tamaki tribes – RadioNZ

1 min read

Fifteen of Auckland’s volcanic cones are to be handed back to the Tamaki Collective to tribes under their Treaty of Waitangi claim.

Under its Treaty claim, the Tamaki Collective had previously negotiated the ownership of 11 sites but, following fresh talks with the Crown, that number has been increased to 15.

Owairaka or Mount Albert, Rarotonga or Mount Smart, North Head Historic Reserve, and Wiri Historic Reserve are being added to the list, which already includes Maungakiekie or One Tree Hill and Maungawhau or Mount Eden.

The Crown has signed a Record of Agreement with the Tamaki Collective, which puts both parties on the path to signing a Deed of Settlement.

The public will still have unfettered access to all of the cones, or maunga.

They’ll be co-managed by a body made up of Auckland Council, the Tamaki Collective and a Crown representative.

Treaty of Waitangi Negotiations Minister Chris Finlayson says ownership is being transferred to the Tamaki Collective because of the historic, spiritual and culture significance of the maunga.

The Tamaki Collective is made up of: Ngai Tai ki Tamaki, Ngati Maru, Ngati Paoa, Ngati Tamaoho, Ngati Tamatera, Ngati Te Ata, Ngati Whanaunga, Ngati Whatua o Kaipara, Ngati Whatua o Orakei, Te Akitai, Te Kawerau-a-Maki, Te Patukirikiri and Te Runanga o Ngati Whatua.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.