Apr 21, 2021


Maori News & Indigenous Views

Tanerau Latimer to captain Maori All Blacks

2 min read

Waikato flanker Tanerau Latimer will captain the Maori All Blacks squad on their three-match UK tour next month.

Latimer was named to lead the 26-strong squad, which also includes other former All Blacks Hika Elliot, Jarrad Hoeata and Jason Eaton, in matches against the Leicester Tigers, a Championship XV and Canada.

Coach Jamie Joseph said he was delighted with the calibre of his team.

The Maori All Blacks are a unique team and we feel very privileged to be part of this special campaign.

“We have selected Tanerau as captain for his perfect mix of talent and leadership on and off the field – and we have seen him put both to good use in this year’s ITM Cup.

“We are very excited about this tour to England as the programme offers an excellent opportunity to display the depth of talent we have.

“Taking on the Leicester Tigers and the unique Championship XV at home will be a challenge for us, especially knowing that the home advantage will be a huge factor for them.

“We are looking forward to the challenge and I know these young men selected today will rise to the occasion,” Joseph said.

The NZRU also announced two sponsorship deals for the Maori All Blacks, with Aotearoa Fisheries sponsoring the tour, while BNZ will have their logo on the front of the team’s jerseys. BNZ will be replaced by the NZRU’s global sponsor AIG on the jersey from 2013.

The Maori All Blacks face the Leicester Tigers on November 14, a Championship Select XV on November 18 and Canda on November 24 (all NZ dates).


Forwards:Hika Elliot (Ngati Awa – Hawke’s Bay), Quentin MacDonald (Rangitane – Tasman), Ben May (Ngati Maniapoto – Waikato), Bronson Murray (Ngapuhi – Bay of Plenty), Ben Afeaki (Ngati Awa – North Harbour), Jacob Ellison (Ngati Porou – Otago), Jarrad Hoeata (Ngati Kahungunu – Taranaki), Jason Eaton (Ngati Apa – Taranaki), Romana Graham (Ngati Apa – Waikato), Ross Filipo (Muaupoko – Wellington), Nick Crosswell (Ngati Porou – Manawatu), Tanerau Latimer – captain (Te Arawa – Bay of Plenty), Elliot Dixon (Ngapuhi – Southland), Karl Lowe (Ngati Kahungunu – Hawke’s Bay), Shane Christie (Ngati Kura – Tasman).

Backs:Jamison Gibson-Park (Ngati Porou/Nga Tai – Taranaki), Frae Wilson (Ngati Rangi/Te Ati Awa – Wellingon), Willie Ripia (Ngai Tuhoe – Bay of Plenty), Tim Bateman (Ngai Tahu – Wellington), Jackson Willison (Ngati Mahuta – Waikato), Charlie Ngatai (Ngati Porou/Te Whanau-a-Apanui – Wellington), Declan O’Donnell (Ngati Tuwharetoa/Ngati Porou – Waikato), Andre Taylor (Ngati Tuwharetoa/Ngati Kahungunu – Taranaki), Kurt Baker (Ngapuhi – Taranaki), Trent Renata (Ngati Maru – Waikato), Kade Poki (Te Ati Awa – Southland).

– Fairfax NZ News

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.