May 7, 2021

Maori News & Indigenous Views

Nominations open for Annual Matariki Te Arawa Women’s Awards

2 min read

(Rotorua Daily Post) Nominations are being called for awards recognising outstanding Te Arawa women and celebrating the Maori New Year.

A_281211aw11a_t460The third Annual Matariki Te Arawa Women’s Awards, honouring women from within Te Arawa and Tuwharetoa for their contribution and commitment to the tribes, will be held at the Blue Baths in Rotorua on July 12.

The theme of this year’s awards is Oranga Tangata, Oranga Whanau (Healthy People, Healthy Families) and nominees will be considered for their work in family violence, mental health, cancer support, suicide prevention, child poverty, and women’s refuge as well as an overall contribution category.

Nominations can be emailed to[email protected]and close Thursday next week.

This year’s event will be combined with the popular annual Stars of Matariki concert featuring Maori divas Betty-Anne Monga, Whirimako Black, Maisey Rika and Ria Hall.

Founder and event organiser Te Ringahuia Hata said she had been delighted with the positive response she had gotten for the awards and wanted to encourage every hapu within Te Arawa and Tuwharetoa to nominate at least one of their women.

“We know there are many women toiling behind the scenes who may not receive recognition for their efforts, in particular in the areas of whanau ora (family wellbeing). This showcase gives our community a chance to express our gratitude for their endeavours. The concert will also be special because it brings together the exceptional musical talent and unique collaborations of stars who will honour mana wahine as only those ladies can.”

Rotorua author, singer, teacher and local personality Bea Yates, who won the supreme overall contribution award last year, is now part of the awards selection committee and said the panel was excited and privileged to be part of an event celebrating strong Te Arawa women and acknowledging their continued commitment and dedication to the community.

Te Arawa kapa haka exponent Miriama Morrison won the supreme award at the inaugural ceremony in 2011.

The third Annual Matariki Te Arawa Women’s Awards ceremony will start at 6pm followed by the Stars of Matariki show.

Tickets, $150 individuals and $1500 corporate tables, are available by emailing[email protected].

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.