Bay Export Achiever Award announced

Bay Export Achiever Award announced

Winners of the BNZ Bay of Plenty ExportNZ awards were announced on Friday night in true ‘Cluedo’ mystery style – the theme of the night. 

It was an amazing event, which had a huge buzz around it right from the beginning, with tickets selling out in 48 hours. The theme Cluedo ‘Who are the Bay of Plenty’s killer exporters’ has obviously struck a chord in the export community and the majority of guests dressed in theme.

Bay of Plenty Polytechnic annually sponsor the Export Achiever Award and were delighted when Hemi Rolleston, Chief Executive at Te Awanui Huka Pak, was named the 2012 winner. The award category allows managers, or in Hemi’s case, the Chair of the Te Awanui board, to nominate an employee that deserves to be recognised for their contribution to their company – often the unsung heroes of the business.

Judges of the Export awards recognized the huge amount of energy, time, sacrifice and passion that Hemi had invested in order to deliver his company’s vision and make it both an operational and commercial success. They also commented on his great focus in delivering on a strategy which allowed culture and business to work together for a greater export value, not just now but for generations to come.

Hemi said he was humbled by the award and wished to particularly acknowledge the other talented finalists. “It’s great to see I was up against such fierce competition,” Hemi said.  “I’d also like to acknowledge the [Te Awanui] board for trusting me to give me the opportunity to flourish.”

Other finalists in the Export Achiever award category were Glenn Purcell – Automation & Electronics and Fraser Vickers – Beca Group Ltd.

Category winners were:

The United Travel Corporate Emerging Exporter of the Year Award – Power Smart Solar
The Page Macrae Engineering Innovation Award – Doherty Engineered Attachments Ltd
ZESPRI International Service to Export Award – Kay Rogers (United Travel Corporate)
The Sharp Tudhope Lawyers Exporter of the Year Award – Bluelab Corporation Ltd

Latest Tweets