TEU elections

James Houkamau from Whitireia and Ngaroma Williams from Te Tari Puna Ora (NZCA) will contest an election for the role of TEU’s Te Tumu Arataki (Maori vice president).

Both candidates are experienced members of TEU’s M?ori committee Te Toi Ahurangi.

Five university academic members will also contest for two positions on TEU’s Industrial and Professional Committee. They are Dov Bing from the University of Waikato, Megan Clayton from the University of Canterbury, Brent Lovelock from the University of Otago, John Prince from Auckland University of Technology and Paul Taillon of the University of Auckland.

The elections will open next week and will run through until the end of January next year.

TEU’s current national president, Sandra Grey, who finished in the role this year, has been elected unopposed to the newly established role of industrial and professional vice-president for 2013-2014, and Massey University’s Cat Pausé has also been elected unopposed to the be TEU women’s vice-president for the same term. West REAP’s Cheryl Jackson and Scott Walters of Lincoln University were also elected unopposed to the union’s national council.

In the results of the recently held elections Sarah Proctor-Thompson (Victoria University) and Susan Bennett (Wintec) were elected as women’s representatives to the Industrial and Professional Committee and Rikke Betts (Te Tari Puna Ora ) was elected as the REAP/OTEP/PTE representative.

Francie Oberg-Nordt (CPIT), Anne-Marie Brady (University of Canterbury), Alex Sims (University of Auckland), and Susan Bennett (Wintec) were all elected as academic staff representatives to the National Women’s Committee 2013-2014.


Latest Tweets