May 12, 2021

Maori News & Indigenous Views

Winners announced for 2009 National Maori Sports Awards (Courtesy MTS)

2 min read

Thanks to Maori TV and Vanessa Horan for this panui

Rugby league star Benji Marshall (Ngai Tuhoe) is the supreme winner of the 2009 MAORI SPORTS AWARDS screening on Maori Television tonight Sunday December 6 at 9.00 PM. Marshall beat a world-class field of finalists to take the top prize the Albie Pryor Memorial Maori Sportsperson of the Year.

Benji MarshallTe Tohu Taakaro o Aotearoa Charitable Trust hosted the prestigious black tie ceremony at the TelstraClear Pacific Events Centre in Manukau last night (Saturday December 5). As well as Australian Idol winner Stan Walker, the entertainment line-up included singer-songwriter Maisey Rika; Jo Hopkins aka Chickey from the Patea Maori Club; 2009 Homai Te Pakipaki winner Roland Williams; world champion hip hop dance crew ReQuest; and reggae band Box Juice.

The award recipients for 2009 are:

Maori Sports Hall of Fame Inductee: Margaret Te Kahurangi (Meg) Matangi MBE (Te Atiawa, Taranaki, Ngati Mutunga) basketball (now known as netball)

Maori World Champions Awards: Jason Wynyard (Ngapuhi, Ngati Maniapoto) wood chopping and mixed saw; Karmyn Wynyard (Tainui) single and mixed saw; Storm Uru (Ngai Tahu) rowing; Jade Uru (Ngai Tahu) rowing; Shayne Taupo (Tainui, Ngapuhi, Ngati Whatua, Ngati Ruanui) karate; James Te Huna (Ngati Tuwharetoa) cage fighting; Tohora Harawira (Ngapuhi) powerlifting; Tiffany Piper (Ngati Kahungunu, Ngati Tuwharetoa) action pistol shooting; and Matthew Lack (Whakatohea) wheelchair racing

Skills Active Maori Sports Scholarship: Samantha Harrison (Ngapuhi) hockey

SPARC Best Community Initiative Award: Oranga Pai Programme Huakina Trust

Maori Sports Administrator of the Year: Philip Parker (Ngati Manawa) soccer

Maori Sports Umpire/Referee of the Year: Sheldon Eden-Whaitiri (Ngati Kahungunu) rugby

Disabled Maori Sports Person of the Year: Matthew Lack (Whakatohea) wheelchair racing

Maori Sports Coach of the Year: Stephen Kearney (Te Atiawa) rugby league

Maori Sports Team of the Year: Tu Toa Girls Netball Team Palmerston North

Maori Sports Media Award of the Year: Television Maori Rugby Special, Native Affairs, Maori Television

Junior Maori Sportswomen of the Year: Tiffany Piper (Ngati Kahungunu, Ngati Tuwharetoa) pistol shooting, fencing, modern penthalon

Junior Maori Sportsman of the Year: Zac Guildford (Ngati Kahungunu) rugby

Senior Maori Sportswomen of the Year: Renee Wickliffe (Hauraki) rugby, touch, sevens

Senior Maori Sportsman of the Year: Benji Marshall (Ngai Tuhoe) rugby league

Albie Pryor Memorial Maori Sports Person of the Year Rongomaraeroa: Benji Marshall (Ngai Tuhoe) rugby league

The home of Maori sport, Maori Television will screen a two-hour special, 2009 MAORI SPORTS AWARDS, tonight Sunday December 6 at 9.00 PM.


Year 2009
Not rated
120-minute special broadcast
Maori and English languages

For images and media information, register with the Maori Television media centre at or for interviews, review tapes or further information, contact:

Vanessa Horan
Communications Manager
M?ori Television

DDI: +64 9 539 7159
MOB: +64 21 928 007
EML: [email protected]

Dick Garratt
Executive Director
Te Tohu Taakaro o Aotearoa Charitable Trust

Ph +64 9 278 6591
Fax +64 9 278 6582
Mob +64 274 901 237

EML: [email protected]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.