May 19, 2021

Maori News & Indigenous Views

Finalists announced for the 2010 Kapiti Horowhenua Maori Business Awards

3 min read

Te Ropu Pakihi (Kapiti and Horowhenua Maori Business Network) is proud to announce 19 finalists for the 2010 Kapiti Horowhenua Maori business awards.

These are the third biennial regional Maori business awards to be organised by Te Ropu Pakihi. The awards celebrate distinctive Maori enterprises through the expression of kaupapa (inherited values) in commercial activities. Five categories are offered with the top (Rangatiratanga) award going to the entrant that weaves kaupapa across all activities. Finalists for the Rangatiratanga award will be announced at a gala awards dinner on Friday May 28 2010 at Tukorehe Marae, Kuku (south of Levin).

Maori businesses from the rohe (Paekakariki to Shannon) are eligible to enter the awards and entrants range from iwi-owned service providers to wh?nau operated private businesses, and sole traders.

They include: several tourism businesses, a film company, a high profile bakery and a business that manufactures designer headstones. All the finalists demonstrate contributions to both the well being of their communities; and the national economy.

There are over 538 Maori businesses in the rohe with M?ori business making up 10 per cent of all business in Kapiti and Horowhenua districts.

Te Ropu Pakihi Awards Convenor Daphne Luke says while many awards programmes are focused on activities that strive to maximise shareholder wealth, Te Ropu Pakihi aims to reward expressions of kaupapa – subject to financial limitations.

Chief Judge Professor Whatarangi Winiata says the challenge of the judges to include the positive contributions of Maori enterprise to the genuine progress of the community is, a real point of difference.

For the first time ever, this years judging panel visited all entrants in order to find out more about the Maori businesses in the rohe. Bernie Savage, who has judged the two previous awards, says this made the judging tougher, especially when all the entrants demonstrated such a high level of business skill.

The winner of the Rangatiratanga award in 2008 was Te Kokiri Development Consultancy, and in 2006 it was Kapiti Island Alive. Daphne Luke says both businesses have national leadership roles in their respective industries and are role models for emerging and new businesses.

She says while this year’s list of entrants included a number of businesses that had entered before; there were also a number entering for the first time, which was positive.

Te Ropu Pakihi Chairperson, Christine Warren says she is thrilled that new entrants have entered in this years awards and some are included in the finalist list. The committee is looking forward to meeting new entrants and offering support and networking opportunities, she says.

And the finalists are…

Finalist & Category Contact Person
Category: Manaakitanga

Kapiti Island Alive

Te Aratiatia Learning & Development Ltd

Kiss & Bake Up

Designer Headstones

Reo FM

John Barrett

Denis Grennell

James Cootes

Richard Cornell

Pakira Heke

Category: ?kaip?tanga

Te Aratiatia Learning & Development Ltd

Te Ao Tika/Ecopoint

Kanikani Kids

KED Security


Paora Te Huki

Leigh Rau

Epi Kerr

Te Tahi Takao

Category: Kotahitanga

Kiss & Bake Up


Paekakariki Holiday Park

Chairs Hair Design

Iwi Social Services

Libby Hakaraia

Marilyn Hazelwood

Mel Woodmass

Georgina Halbert

Category: Wh?naungatanga

Kanikani Kids

Kapiti Island Alive

KED Security

Tukapua Tours

Otarere Crafts

George Tukapua

Henry Perenara

Category: Kaitiakitanga

Te Aratiatia Learning & Development

Te Taiao Raukawa

Matenga Auto

Kapakapanui House

Taiwhenua Iwi Workforce

Te Hope Hakaraia

Brenda Tuuta

Sandra Edwards

Leslie Mullen

Category: Rangatiratanga

Te Aratiatia Learning & Development

Kapiti Island Alive

Kiss & Bake Up

Kanikani Kids

Te Ao Tika/Ecopoint

Tickets for the Awards Gala Dinner are now on sale and can be purchased from Kara at Te Arahanga o Nga Iwi in Otaki. Telephone 06 364 8598 or email [email protected].

For more information contact:

  • Daphne Luke, Awards Convenor
  • 027 457 8713
  • Christine Warren, Te R?p? Pakihi Chair and Awards Judge
  • 06 368 1638

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.