May 16, 2021

Maori News & Indigenous Views

The Maori Rugby Team take the field for an exciting 2010

1 min read

Following on from the highly publicised apology to Maori rugby players by the NZRFU and the extended stand down, the Maori Rugby Team are back in 2010 to take the field against the New Zealand Barbarian squad in Whangarei this weekend.

Putting the many lows and highs of previous years behind them, the new Maori Rugby team have been named. They are: Robbie Robinson, Sean Maitland, Jackson Willison, Luke McAlister, Hosea Gear, Stephen Brett, Chris Smylie, Liam Messam (captain), Tanerau Latimer, Jarrad Hoeata, Daniel Ramsay, Isaac Ross, Clint Newland, Corey Flynn, Bronson Murray. The Reserves: Dane Coles, Ben Afeaki, Romana Graham, Hayden Triggs, Colin Bourke, Aaron Smith, Dwayne Sweeney.

With games against Ireland (June 18 here in Rotorua) and 5 days later against England in Napier, the team look set to again bring a disciplined blend of team work and flair, hard work and drive in the build up to the Rugby World Cup next year.

Good luck to the Maori Rugby team, coaching staff and whanau and cant wait to see you all in action this weekend!

For links about the Maori Rugby team, please click:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.