May 10, 2021

Maori News & Indigenous Views

Joint Supreme winners at Maori Language Awards 2010

2 min read

The winners of the Maori Language Awards 2010 were announced on Saturday night at Huia Te Reo – the annual two day Maori language expo event held by Te Taura Whiri i te Reo Maori (The Maori Language Commission), which has now concluded at the Rotorua Energy and Events Centre.

Raukawa Charitable Trust from Tokoroa and Massey University were joint Supreme award winners receiving Te Tohu Huia Te Reo for 2010.

This is the third time that Raukawa Charitable Trust has won the Supreme award, which is testament to the enduring commitment they have to revitalising thelanguage. Their leadership in this area is exemplary and we are happy to continue acknowledging their efforts, says Chief Executive, Glenis Philip-Barbara.

Massey University impressed the judges with their innovative yet simple concept of promoting the language through the purchase of coffee. Sometimes its the simplicity and ease of an idea that cuts through and makes the most impact. Massey Universitys hoko kawhe is an example of this clear cut and inspirational kind of thinking, says Glenis Philip-Barbara.

Katerina Te Heikoko Mataira, co-founder of the Te Ataarangi programme which has been responsible for creating many successful adult language speakers, is the winner of the Taku Toa Takimano award, given in recognition of an individuals efforts to the language.

There is no denying the significant contribution that Katerina has made to the revitalisation of the language over the last twenty to thirty years. As a teacher, an author, and language leader, she is the personification of language excellence and passion. Its fitting therefore for her to be honoured in this way, says Glenis Philip-Barbara.

Whakatupuranga Rua Mano a 25-year tri-partite iwi development strategy between Te Ati Awa, Ngati Raukawa ki-te-Tonga and Ng?ti Toarangatira received Te Tira Aumangea award, given to a group or organisation in recognition of their efforts towards language revitalisation.

The need to plan for the language cannot be understated. At Te Taura Whiri i te Reo Maori we believe planning and foresight is at the heart of successful and well coordinated initiatives. We also believe that Whakatupuranga Rua Mano is perhaps the only example of an iwi based strategy that has been successfully implemented in terms of not only creating wider welfare and development for their respective iwi, but also in terms of regenerating language speakers. It has long stood as an exemplar for other iwi, hapu, whanau and community groups, and like Katerina Te Heikoko Mataira, overdue in terms of national recognition, says Glenis Philip-Barbara.

Other category winners include:
Private Sector: Te Kotuku Rerenga Tahi (Gisborne); Community: Raukawa Charitable Trust (Tokoroa); Local Government: Auckland City Council; Government: Inland Revenue Department; Broadcasting Mainstream: TVNZ; Broadcasting Maori Media: Turanga FM (Gisborne); Print: The Gisborne Herald; IT and Telecommunications: Awawhenua Ltd (Rotorua); Education Mainstream: Kaiti Primary School (Gisborne); Education Maori Medium: Petone Central School (Lower Hutt); Tertiary: Christchurch Polytechnic Institute of Technology; Maori Language Week: Inland Revenue Department and Massey University.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.