May 12, 2021

Maori News & Indigenous Views

Aotearoa New Zealand at the World Summit Award 2010-2011 – Maori need to apply!

3 min read

The global World Summit Awards recognise innovative applications that showcase digital content. The deadline for NZ submissions has been extended to 30 November.

World Summit Awards NZ submission extension

Due to a change in the international timetable for the Awards, the submission deadline for NZ entries has been extended to 30 November.

The World Summit Award honours excellence in multimedia and e-Content creation. Forty outstanding projects, in eight categories, are selected from over 160 UN member states. A special emphasis is placed on those projects which show the benefits of information and communication technology for the development of society at large. The Awards have been running since 2003 and New Zealand has always had a high profile.

The awards provide the opportunity to shift the focus from technology, networks and access issues to the actual applications and the resultant digital content, while increasing the visibility of the application projects to a global audience. The conceptual shift addressed in these awards for digital content to become available on a broader more inclusive scale is timely and very much in line with current thinking.

New Zealand has excelled every year. These successes go on to be shown around the world in the WSA global Road Show.

The eight categories are:

  • e-Business & Commerce
  • e-Culture & Heritage
  • e-Entertainment & Games
  • e-Government & Institutions
  • e-Health & Environment
  • e-Inclusion & Participation
  • e-Learning & Education
  • e-Science & Technology

Entries must be nominated by the NZ reps – so send in a paragraph about your project, the category you think it should be in and if available a URL to the project. Click here for these details.

In 2007 the overall e-Culture winner was: The Te Puia

The Te Puia galleries in Rotorua, New Zealand represent the latest convergence of digital and tactile interaction design for indigenous cultural tourism. The Whare Tapere gallery is based on years of research and consultation with key Te Arawa kaumatua (elders), and uses 3D game technology and multi-user interaction to introduce visitors to the layers of stories in the Whakarewarewa gallery. This preserves the history of the valley in a form that is engaging and accessible. The kaumatua, Te Kepa Marsh, passed away at the culmination of the project, ad this has become an irreplaceable living record of his wisdom and knowledge.

The Think Maori gallery is an immersive space that combines animated films and interactive experiences to show how Maori culture is seen through the forms of the Whakarewarewa landscape. It is designed to be a tool for guides rather than an independent experience, as the local Maori guiding economy is a crucial lifeblood for the region. The work demonstrates the preserving and presenting cultural heritage in line with the challenges of the future. Designed and developed by the Wellington company Lumen, as part of a major interpretative development in 2006 and co-ordinated by 3D Creative Design and Management Ltd.

Special Mentions went to:

New Zealand Special Mentions: e-Entertainment:
New Zealand Special Mentions:e-Inclusion: Te Kete

Te Kete is an open source Web 2.0 tool for a community-built digital archive of related material. A Kete (or basket) of topics may be related geographically, by subject, by source or in any other way. Te Kete enables people with little computer experience to share their stories and songs and memories and photos. It was designed from the ground up to be easily downloaded and configured by a layman for use by small rural communities with poor internet connections and no professional IT support on hand

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.