May 10, 2021

Maori News & Indigenous Views

Finalists for 2011 Maori Language Awards announced

2 min read

Te Taura Whiri i te Reo Maori (The Maori Language Commission) announces finalists for the 2011 Maori Language Awards today. 27 finalists across 15 categories have been identified.

Glenis Philip-Barbara, Chief Executive of Te Taura Whiri i te Reo Maori says, Congratulations to all finalists, particularly for their efforts and commitment to te reo Maori.

Everyone, finalists, entrants and those who participated and support the Maori language are to be congratulated. The Maori language has had unprecedented coverage in the media capturing much of the activity throughout the nation.

We received a number of high calibre entries this year and continue to be impressed by the range of initiatives showcasing creativity and innovation in Maori language promotion and revitalisation.

The finalists for the 2011 Maori Language Awards are:

  • Te Reo o Taranaki Charitable Trust (New Plymouth);
  • Kings College (Auckland);
  • Department of Corrections (Wellington);
  • Tokoroa New World;
  • Te Kotuku Rerenga Tahi Ltd (Gisborne);
  • Insoll Avenue School (Hamilton);
  • Te Runanga o Ngai Te Rangi Iwi Trust (Tauranga);
  • Waahuu Creations (Wellington);
  • NZ Customs Service (Wellington);
  • Massey University Te Kunenga ki Purehuroa (Palmerston North);
  • Wellington City Council;
  • Kaiti School (Gisborne);
  • Inland Revenue Department (Wellington);
  • Te Runanga o Ngati Whakaue ki Maketu (Rotorua);
  • Tokoroa High School;
  • Te Wharekura o Ngati Rongomai (Rotorua);
  • TVNZ (Auckland);
  • South Waikato District Libraries (Tokoroa);
  • Vodaphone NZ (Auckland);
  • Albany Primary School (Auckland);
  • Raukawa Charitable Trust (Tokoroa);
  • The Gisborne Herald;
  • Tumanako Productions (Auckland);
  • Radio Ngati Porou (Ruatorea)
  • and Turanga FM (Gisborne).

Note that some entrants are finalists in more than one category.

Winners of the 13 categories and the winners of the closed awards Te Tohu Aumangea (made to a community based organisation or initiative in acknowledgement of outstanding commitment to the language) and Taku Toa Takimano (recognising an individuals efforts and contributions to the language) will be announced at the Maori Language Awards evening, Friday 18 November at the Rotorua Energy and Events Centre.

The Supreme Award, Te Tohu Huia Te Reo, will also be announced.

For more information regarding the Maori Language Awards, or to purchase tickets, please contact Betty Hauraki on 04 471 6042 or [email protected] All media enquiries should be directed to Debra Jensen.

Contact: Debra Jensen 04 471 6725, 027 231 4297, [email protected]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.