May 9, 2021

Maori News & Indigenous Views

TEU elections

2 min read

James Houkamau from Whitireia and Ngaroma Williams from Te Tari Puna Ora (NZCA) will contest an election for the role of TEUs Te Tumu Arataki (Maori vice president).

Both candidates are experienced members of TEUs M?ori committee Te Toi Ahurangi.

Five university academic members will also contest for two positions on TEUs Industrial and Professional Committee. They are Dov Bing from the University of Waikato, Megan Clayton from the University of Canterbury, Brent Lovelock from the University of Otago, John Prince from Auckland University of Technology and Paul Taillon of the University of Auckland.

The elections will open next week and will run through until the end of January next year.

TEUs current national president, Sandra Grey, who finished in the role this year, has been elected unopposed to the newly established role of industrial and professional vice-president for 2013-2014, and Massey Universitys Cat Paus has also been elected unopposed to the be TEU womens vice-president for the same term. West REAPs Cheryl Jackson and Scott Walters of Lincoln University were also elected unopposed to the unions national council.

In the results of the recently held elections Sarah Proctor-Thompson (Victoria University) and Susan Bennett (Wintec) were elected as womens representatives to the Industrial and Professional Committee and Rikke Betts (Te Tari Puna Ora ) was elected as the REAP/OTEP/PTE representative.

Francie Oberg-Nordt (CPIT), Anne-Marie Brady (University of Canterbury), Alex Sims (University of Auckland), and Susan Bennett (Wintec) were all elected as academic staff representatives to the National Womens Committee 2013-2014.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.