May 18, 2021

Maori News & Indigenous Views

Maori Sports Hall of Fame Honours League And Golf Legends

2 min read

Legendary sports stars, rugby league player Stacey Jones and golfer Philip Tataurangi, will be inducted into the Maori Sports Hall of Fame, Te Whare Matapuna o te Ao Maori, at the National Maori Sports Awards later this year (Saturday 29 November 2014).

Kiwis v Great Britain, 11 November 2006Stacey William Jones ONZM (Ngati Maniapoto, Ngapuhi) is widely regarded as the best New Zealand player of his generation.

The 38-year-old played 46 tests for the Kiwis from 1995 to 2006 six tests as captain in 2002 and 2006 and made a club record 261 NRL appearances. He also holds the record for most points (674) during his 12 seasons with the Vodafone Warriors.

Philip Mikaera Tataurangi (Ng?ti Kahungunu) was the leading individual among a quartet of young men who became the first New Zealand team to win the world amateur Eisenhower Trophy in Canada in 1992.

Highlights of Tataurangis professional career included winning the 1996 Australian PGA Championship and the 2002 Invensys Classic on the PGA Tour. He is currently patron of the New Zealand branch of The First Tee, a charity which promotes character development in youth through golf.

A world-class field of finalists will vie for top honours in 10 categories at this years National M?ori Sports Awards to be held at the Vodafone Events Centre in Manukau on Saturday 29 November.

Set up to foster, promote and encourage Maori sports people in the pursuit of excellence, Te Tohu Taakaro o Aotearoa was founded by the late Albie Pryor with Te Arikinui Dame Te Atairangikaahu as Patron and Sir John Turei as Kaumatua.

Nominations close on 31 October 2014. More information is on the

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.